Contact Us

CATEGORIES

Whoops…Nothing found

Try other keywords in your search

Multi-User Setup

 3 Minutes

 8 Likes

 11223 Views

Since PIXERA version 2.0, Multi-User Workflows can be integrated into your projects. It is important to install the same PIXERA Version on all the Director machines used; otherwise, Multi-User cannot be used.
A proper network setup is needed to join Multi-User Sessions.
 

INFO

Multi-User and Manager Backup Features are mixed. This article only covers the relevant multiuser features. For Manager Backup information, please refer to this article:
 

 

 

First Steps

  • Follow the PIXERA system requirements PDF (AMD graphics cards are NOT supported!) PIXERA System Requirements 
     
  • Make sure the devices are within the same IP range and subnet (test connectivity via cmd.exe ping "IP Address") for successful setup of Multi-User.
     
  • Make sure that the same PIXERA Version is installed on all devices.
     
  • Open PIXERA (not Presence!) on every machine that participates in the Multi-User setup.

 

NOTE

It is mandatory that the used network switch is multicast-capable. 
Be careful with managed switches. They can be difficult to set up. In case of a faulty setup, network connectivity can drop.

 

 

 

Multi-User ≠ Multi-Client

Multi-Client setups are not covered in this article. For an overview see here: Manager - Client Setup / Multi - Client Setup 

 

Technical Setup

Multi-User Sessions in PIXERA are set up in the options.

First, the machines must be discovered in the network.
Additionally, PIXERA must be started on all Director machines; this demo setup uses two Director instances. 

In the Multi-User and Backup tab, the session is configured:

Name: This field is used to add the Multi-User Session Name. Add the same name to all directors in the network.


Join Session can be used to join the session. Leave Session can be used to leave the session. Assign a Name.
Set this up on every Director machine in the Multi-User Session.

Hit the “Join” button to join the Session:


1: Auto-join of the Multi-User session at startup. As long as the “Name” field is set correctly, the machine will join an active Multi-User session.

2: Closed members are treated as lost. This applies to closing PIXERA manually on a member.

3: Activate outputs when members are lost. In case of an outage of a member, the local outputs will be activated.


1: One of the directors in the network should have this option enabled. This director will then act as the project source. The other Director instances on the network will then obtain the project from this machine.

IMPORTANT
Multi-User in PIXERA behaves differently from other media Server solutions. There is no "lead -> follow" system. Once one Director is declared as reference, the remaining directors in the network are treated equally. Changes are either pushed/pulled or, transferred in real time if incremental updates are activated.

 

2: Options: Always, Never, only if None or Different Project.

3: Manual Push/Pull of the PIXERA project


 Project Transfer: either Push or Pull all data in the project.


1: This option does have a specific use case. In some projects, it may be necessary to operate an independent setup scenario with its own director and client machines. This option helps to transfer the data from the live director to the backup director and helps with output assignment.

2: Activate PIXERA Control Data Receive.

This affects the Control Project Name found in Settings→Control 

If a Control Group is set, this name is used to provide unique addressing for the systems in a Control Group.

Choose from:

  • Receive all Data
    This means that all data is transferred with modules and Control project name. 

    Warning

    Problems may arise if the names of two active multi-user sessions are the same during runtime.

     
  • Exclude Project Name (Default Recommended)
    This will not transfer the Control Project Name to the other Multi-User systems.
  • Exclude Project Name and Modules
    This will not transfer the Control Project Name and the current Control Node space to the other Multi-User systems.
     

3: Never deactivate Outputs at Backup

4: Sends incremental updates to the other directors in the network (see below)

5: Activates timeline playback updates


Push/Pull Functionality

Push/Pull can either be executed within each individual Tab. For example, executing the pull within the timeline will only copy the changes in the timeline tab (this is also true for the remaining tabs).

Now let's imagine two people are currently working at the same show. One person takes care of timeline programming, whereas the second person takes care of projection mapping.  
As soon as the mapping is finished, user two can push the mapping changes to the Reference Director.

 

In case you want to transfer the project, push-pull for the entire project can be found in the Multi-User and Backup Options:

 


Incremental Updates

There is an option such that you don't have to press the Push button each time you make a change. When "Allow Incremental Updates" is enabled, any changes are automatically pushed to the other Multi-User members in the session.

Functionality Change in 26.2

In 26.1 and prior, the Multi-User member with the incremental update setting turned on sends any changes made on it to all other members in the session. This has some limitations for 3+ member setups. If you have the members A, B, and C where C has the setting turned off and the others have it turned on, A and B will send their updates to each other and to C but C will not send update. In Short: a member that has the setting turned off will not send its updates to any other member, but it will receive updates.

From 26.2 and later, the Multi-User members in the session with the setting turned off will NOT receive any updates. If you have the members A, B, and C where C has the setting turned off and the others have it turned on, A and B will exchange updates, C will neither send nor receive updates. In Short: a member that has the setting turned off will not send and not receive updates to any other members.

 

 


PIXERA 1.9.148 | 21. September 2023

Was this article helpful?