For playback, Pixera's render engine always requires the native media file.
Thus, the content that is placed on the timeline in the compositing tab must be passed on to the clients.
To distribute the media files to the clients in a multiclient system, Pixera offers a built-in file transfer.
This file transfer allows data from the master's hard disk or a network drive, such as a NAS system, to be copied to the clients for playback.
The file transfer automatically saves these files in a special folder on the clients.
This folder is created by default on the D-disk of the client and is called "RX-Cache".
The file structure of the source is mapped in this RX-Cache folder.
If a content is now to be played, Pixera only passes the path of the file to the clients - if there is a file with this name and path in the RX-Cache folder, it can be played by the render engine.
As displayed in the picture below you can see that the original path of the file is replicated in the RX-Cache folder.
Changing the Default Storage Drive
A D-drive is not always available on the playout server, so the location for the RX-Cache folder can be freely chosen.
The settings for the "Default Storage Drive" can be changed centralized from the master. Select the Client in the "Live Tab" in "Mapping" and select the prefered storage drive in the drop down menu on the right.
By default, the content which is used on the timeline is copied to all connected clients.
This is to ensure that the required content is available on the clients at all times. Even if a file is suddenly to be displayed on another display that is connected to another client.
Provided that sufficient memory is available on the clients, it is not necessary to make special settings for basic projects.
Change Distribution Option on file level
In Pixera it is possible to set the distribution options on file level and thus to define exactly to which client the file should be copied by the file transfer. This options can be found in the Inspector of the media file in the resources
In the example above the file "video6.mov" is going to be transfered to all Clients available in the network. By disabling the checkboxes you can exlude a client to not transfer this file to a specific client.
Change Distribution Option on folder level
In Pixera it is also possible to set the distribution options on folder level and thus to define exactly to which client the files in this folder should be copied by the file transfer. This options can be found in the Inspector.
Here, you are also able to define if this settings should be applied whenever you add a new content to this folder.
In the Assets tab of the Inspector you can check the transfer status of media files.
By pressing the button "Distribute to all Clients" the transfer can be started manually. This allows, for example, content that is transferred by default only when it is placed on the timeline to be copied to the clients in advance.
File Distribution Preferences
In the settings of Pixera there is the menu item "File Distribution". Here you can make settings regarding the file transfer.
Overview of transfers
In here, you can find a list of all current transfers in this menu item at the very bottom. Here you can also cancel running or pending transfers by clicking on the X in the right margin.
In the upper part of this menu you will find a list of all available drives. The list includes all local drives and network drives.
If you need log in data to access a network drive, you can enter this data directly here. By pressing the button "Log In", a window opens, in which you can enter username and password for this drive.
This log in data is automatically forwarded to the client. Thus, a client can directly access this drive to copy media files. It is not necessary to map the network drive to the clients.
Client- and Master Caching
Enabling caching in general allows the machine to access the drive and thus copy files from it.
In this specific example, enabling client caching allows any client on the network to access, for example, the master's D-drive to copy media files needed for playback. Is a client not able to connect to i.e. the NAS directly it tries to copy the files via the master.
If Master-Cashing is enabled it means, that still master only copy files which are needed for its playout as is the case in standalone setups.
In setups where standalone machines are used but the content is on a NAS, as is often the case in fix installations, the master would automatically copy the needed files from the NAS to its RX-cache folder.
Transfer on Import or transfer used files
Basically, Pixera only transfers files that are in use, which means files that are on the timeline.
However, if you want Pixera to transfer the file as soon as it is added to the resources, you can activate this with this checkbox.
By clicking "Apply to all Pool-Objects" the settings above are applied to all pool objects.
"Restore Default Settings" sets Pixera back to transfer only used files (media files on the timeline) to clients
Clicking on "Distribute All" starts transfering files to clients with the given settings.
With "Cancel all Tasks" all running transfer tasks can be aborted.
Transfer files via IP address or hostname
To copy data from the Master to the Clients, Pixera uses the IP address by default. However, this requires that the Master needs a static IP address.
If a static IP address is not possible on the Master, the file transfer can also be resolved via the host name.
The host name is the computer name which is also static and does not change.
Network drives or so called NAS uses UNC pathes.